Moorside Community Primary School

Moorside Community Primary School

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework for the care and education of children aged 0-5 yrs. The EYFS is based around four themes and each theme is linked to an important principle:                      

  • A Unique Child - Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

  • Positive Relationships - Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

  • Enabling Environments - The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

  • Learning and Development - Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

The EYFS is made up of seven areas of Learning and Development which together make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for children as they grow, learn and develop. The areas of Learning and Development are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication, Language and Literacy

  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy

  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World

  • Physical Development

  • Creative Development

At Moorside we are proud of our EYFS provision which is welcoming, safe and stimulating, and where children are able to enjoy learning through play, to grow in confidence and to fulfil their potential.